You are here
Home > LATEST NEWS > Shahid Afridi to lead Galle Gladiators in LPL – Newspaper

Shahid Afridi to lead Galle Gladiators in LPL – Newspaper

KARACHI: The Galle Gladiators have introduced former Pakistan Captain and star participant Shahid Afridi as their captain for the primary version of Lanka Premier League (LPL) which shall be performed from November 26 to December 16 in Hambantota, Sri Lanka.

Galle Gladiators had initially deliberate to call Sarfaraz Ahmad, who additionally leads Quetta Gladiators, as their skipper however he has left with Pakistan group for his or her tour of New Zealand.

Afridi, who was lately in motion for Multan Sultans within the Pakistan Tremendous League (PSL) play-offs has been named because the captain whereas Sri Lankan batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa would be the vice captain of the aspect.

Quetta Gladiators proprietor Nadeem Omar mentioned he’s delig­hted that Afridi has accepted the function of being the chief. “Afridi is a worldwide famous person and an amazing chief and he’s the right selection to guide Galle Gladiators in LPL,” mentioned Nadeem. “I belief that he’ll have the ability to assist us combat for the title and win it.”

Gladiators have changed Sarfaraz Ahmad with younger Pakistan batsman Ahsan Ali whereas West Indian batsman Chadwick Walton has are available as substitute of South African Colin Ingram who went to play Large Bash.

Gladiators have additionally signed Quetta’s Abdul Nasir to advertise the expertise for the area and fast-bowler Waqas Maqsood as 21st and 22nd gamers respectively within the squad.

Gladiators will open their marketing campaign on November 27 in opposition to Jaffna Stallions.

Squad: Shahid Afridi (Captain), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Vice-Captain), Lasith Malinga, Mohammad Amir, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Akila Dhananjaya, Milinda Siriwardena, Hazratullah Zazai, Ahsaan Ali, Azam Khan, Shehan Jayasuriya, Lakshan Sandakan, Asitha Fernando, Chadwick Walton, Mohammad Shiraz, Nuwan Thushara, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Chanaka Ruwansiri, Sahan Arachchi, Duwindu Tilkaratne, Abdul Nasir and Waqas Maqsood.

Workforce Administration: Wasim Akram (Mentor), Moin Khan (Head Coach), Upul Chandana (Assistant Coach), Azam Khan (Workforce Supervisor), Nabeel Hashmi (Media Supervisor).

Translate »